Traveller Diaries, Entry #1, Timișoara

It’s been a lot longer than I expected since when I returned from my trip, safe and sound. I kept postponing this post, kept saying I need to gather my thoughts, I need to study for my finals, I need to do this and that. It’s been so long since I have last written anything, I don’t even know how to do it anymore.

Timișoara (German: Temeswar) is the capital city of Timiș Country in western Romania. One of the largest Romanian cities, with a population of 319,279 inhabitants (the third most populous city in the country, as of 2011),and considered the informal capital city of the historical region of Banat, Timișoara is the main social, economic and cultural center in the western part of Romania.”

Or so Wikipedia says. Many thanks to my friend, who has proved to be an amazing guide and who took the time to take me all around the city, whichever place I liked, and pampered me for three days. 🙂

Weather ★☆☆☆☆

It rained for every single day of my trip. It would usually stop in the late afternoon, though, when it was time for me to go back to the hotel, dizzy and jet-legged.

Landscape ★★☆☆☆

As I have been told, I couldn’t have chosen a worse moment for my trip, as everything was under construction and pretty much all I saw, behind the blurry lenses of my glasses, was a huge site.

Museums/Cultural locations/Architecture ★★★☆☆

I decided it was better if I put all three under the same heading, as I only saw one museum, due to the fact that the others were closed/gone. As for the cultural locations and architecture, I caught a glimpse of the old-style houses when the rain stopped and I was able to look up. As far as this was concerned, it was truly disappointing, as I was really excited when I left home.

Catedrala_Millennium_Timisoara catedrala-mitropolitana-timisoara-1

Food and Pubs ★★★★☆

KFC and McDonald’s are the same all over the world. The only “local” cuisine I tried was at Dinar Restaurant, a place I appreciated mostly for its old-times looks. I did not, however, miss a single chance to drink coffee in one of its many pubs.

default

All the photos are taken from the almighty internet, as the bad weather did not make me want to take any pictures in particular. In spite of the weather and the site-like aspect of the city, I couldn’t say I am not eager to visit it again (hopefully during summer and after the workers have done their job).

About Mary Tudor

Never sure if I'm working hard or hardly working.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

